全球开店

向澳大利亚拓展业务

已经在亚马逊开店?

向澳大利亚拓展业务

 

亚马逊新用户?

开始

 

为何要向澳大利亚拓展业务?

利用亚马逊平台在澳大利亚实现您的业务增长

开始在澳大利亚商城销售商品,以接触数百万新买家。2019 年,数以百计的澳大利亚卖家年收入超过了 $100k,且该数字目前还在不断上升。

获得多样化的收入来源

成为亚马逊澳大利亚的销售伙伴,提升您的销量,同时拓展您的亚马逊业务。亚马逊澳大利亚商城开放销售的商品分类超过 30 个。

使用亚马逊的工具简化拓展

利用亚马逊的国际物流,通过亚马逊物流配送至澳大利亚买家。

了解企业家如何在亚马逊澳大利亚商城开展业务

亚马逊美国商城和澳大利亚商城在 KIND-LY 品牌知名度的提升方面非常出色,随着亚马逊澳大利亚商城流量的增加,销量也在不断增长。
Lisa RacitiKind-LY 首席执行官
如何

准备好在澳大利亚开店了吗?

与亚马逊美国一样,您可以在澳大利亚注册卖家平台账户。您可以使用亚马逊的工具和服务轻松拓展国际业务,因此如果您有兴趣更进一步,可按照以下步骤开始在亚马逊澳大利亚商城开店。

第 1 步

确定要销售的商品
确保您遵守澳大利亚的所有法律和商品标准。了解在澳大利亚境内销售商品时的受限商品和分类要求。第三方服务提供商也可以帮助解决合规性问题,包括跨境配送和税费。

第 2 步

注册和发布
了解您在澳大利亚注册卖家平台账户需要哪些信息。注册后,您需要完成卖家身份验证,完成税务调查,并使用澳大利亚银行地址指定存款方式。

使用“建立国际商品信息”将您在美国商城的商品信息同步到澳大利亚商城,或通过查找现有商品信息或创建新的商品信息开始在澳大利亚商城添加商品。

第 3 步

发货和配送
亚马逊拥有由国际领先的配送和物流专家组成的网络,为向澳大利亚拓展业务的亚马逊卖家提供特别折扣费率。

大多数亚马逊卖家都选择亚马逊物流 (FBA),因为他们希望在不必增加物流投资的情况下创造更多的销售额。了解在澳大利亚范围内运输和配送涉及的内容,包括成本、时间和要求。

第 4 步

管理业务
要管理您在澳大利亚的业务,您需要了解商品及服务税 (GST),设置您的商品价格,然后通过全球收款服务(如 Hyperwallet)使用您的当地货币收取付款。使用全球销售一览、“商品推广”和“秒杀”等亚马逊工具在澳大利亚拓展业务。
带插图的放大镜

亚马逊卖家帮助

深入了解有关亚马逊澳大利亚商城“我要开店”的特定主题
带插图的放大镜

网络研讨会

观看我们的网络研讨会,了解如何向澳大利亚拓展业务

常见问题

获取有关“我要在澳大利亚开店”的常见问题的答案。

总体

为何要在澳大利亚开店?
在澳大利亚开店,您可以:
  • 接触到数百万潜在买家: 在亚马逊澳大利亚商城开店时,您可以接触数以百万计的买家,让澳大利亚买家更容易找到您的商品、更轻松地购买。在全球销售商品并拓展您的买家覆盖范围。
  • 作为发展的一部分: 通过在澳大利亚开店,使商城不断发展,从而获益。2019 年,Amazon.com.au 的月平均访客数同比增长超过 52%,2019 年澳大利亚的电子商务销售额增长 +3.8%。通过在澳大利亚开店并创建超过 30 种商品分类的商品信息,您也可以从此增长中获益。
  • 让亚马逊负责处理细节: 利用我们先进的物流、强大的工具和世界一流的客户服务简化国际销售,以便您能够集中精力扩展您的业务。
  • 抢先体验: 与美国相比,亚马逊澳大利亚商城中销售您分类的商品的卖家通常较少,这意味着您有更多的机会。率先销售您所拥有的商品分类,占据先行者优势。
我应该在澳大利亚销售哪些商品?
我们通常建议卖家在澳大利亚商城中销售其所有符合条件的美国商品。使用亚马逊的“建立国际商品信息”(BIL) 工具,您可以轻松在欧洲商城中添加您的美国商品并设置自动定价规则。但是,您需要确保您具有相应的经销权,并应确保您的商品符合澳大利亚当地法规。例如,美国本土适用的插头无法在澳大利亚使用。

如果您计划通过亚马逊物流 (FBA) 在澳大利亚配送商品,您可能希望以亚马逊物流为您提供“宽泛而又不失精细”的配送方案。查看您的整个目录,从各 ASIN 中选若干商品进行查看,即可分辨出哪些商品属于畅销品。确定最畅销的商品后,您可以补充更多货件。在商城入驻策略部分获取有关商品详情的更多指南。
在澳大利亚销售商品容易吗?
在澳大利亚等新地理区域开店对于业务来说可能是一大挑战。但是,对于像澳大利亚这样的快速增长的亚马逊店铺,这项投资可能非常值得。

正如您在美国开始销售商品时一样,您在澳大利亚是否取得成功取决于您的业务所特有的诸多因素,包括商品分类、利润和法规要求。在流程中,您应尽早、全面地考虑在澳大利亚商城中销售商品的所有利弊,这非常重要。

要求

我需要如何做才能在澳大利亚亚马逊商城中开店?
在澳大利亚开店需经历四个主要步骤:
  • 开店准备,包括考虑当地税务和法规要求。
  • 在澳大利亚注册一个卖家平台账户并发布您的商品。
  • 将您的商品跨境配送至澳大利亚并配送订单。
  • 管理您的业务,包括客户支持和退货。
什么是商品及服务税 (GST)?我需要了解哪些内容?
如果您选择卖家自配送,亚马逊将为您代缴税款。 如果您选择亚马逊物流,则需要为发往澳大利亚的所有货件支付进口税(货件价值的 10%),但如果您的销售额未达到 75k 澳元的起征点,则无需向澳大利亚税务局 (ATO) 注册。 注册后,您将按季度代收代缴商品及服务税。有关商品及服务税的更多信息: 澳大利亚低价值进口商品的商品及服务税澳大利亚税务局

2018 年,澳大利亚实施了相关法律,对归类为澳大利亚商品及服务税 (GST) 应税商品且海关估价不超过 1,000 澳元 (AUD)(低价值进口商品,缩写为 LVIG)的进口商品征收商品及服务税。基于这一点,对于卖家在 Amazon.com 上销售且从澳大利亚境外配送至澳大利亚地址的低价值进口商品,亚马逊需要计算、代收和代缴 10% 的商品及服务税。

如果您销售的商品符合低价值进口商品条件,亚马逊将自动计算、代收和代缴 10% 的商品及服务税。如果您的商品归类为低价值进口商品,商品及服务税将添加到您在卖家平台中设置的商品价格和运费中。

我需要澳大利亚企业实体或银行账户吗?
不需要。您可以继续使用您的美国企业实体。 银行所在地必须是澳大利亚,因此您将无法使用您的美国银行账户。 为方便起见,我们建议您使用全球收款服务,如 Hyperwallet。

账户和商品信息

我能否使用当前的美国账户在澳大利亚销售商品?
不能,您需要注册一个亚马逊澳大利亚账户。您可以选择通过卖家平台中的全球开店控制面板将您的美国账户与澳大利亚账户相关联;如果您刚开始销售商品,可点击此处开始。
我可以将我的 Amazon.com 商品信息转移到亚马逊澳大利亚商城吗?
可以。建立国际商品信息 (BIL)工具通过跨多个商城添加商品信息并同步定价帮助您在全球范围内销售商品。

要通过 BIL 将您的 Amazon.com 商品信息转移到 Amazon.com.au,您需要关联您的账户。只有关联您的账户才能管理跨地区业务,这样您能在某个地区同时查看各商城的业务信息。关联您的北美账户和澳大利亚账户

关联您的账户后,使用 BIL 将美国商城设置为“来源”商城。接下来,将澳大利亚商城设置为您的“目标”商城。

BIL 不会创建新的商品信息 (ASIN)。如果新商城中已存在商品详情,可以通过 BIL 添加商品。如果不存在商品详情,则无法添加商品。BIL 也不可用于管理库存。要使商品可供购买,首先需要使库存可供相应商城使用。
如何得知我的美国商品在澳大利亚是否合规?
澳大利亚的合规性法规会定期调整。如果您销售的是消费类商品、美妆商品或电视/音响类商品,则需特别注意查阅当地法规并确保合规性。亚马逊的诸多外部服务提供商均可帮助您解决商品合规性问题。
我需要在澳大利亚商品信息中添加新的 ASIN 吗?
不,一般不需要。商品 ASIN 是“全局性”的,仅当商品与原始 ASIN 差异较大时,ASIN 才会不同。例如,如果您有三个商品版本(按插座插头区分 - 澳大利亚、美国),则每个商品版本都有自己的 ASIN。但如果商品不存在重大差异(例如颜色差别)的话,则每个商品版本都使用相同的 ASIN。

运输和配送

如果我在其他亚马逊商城销售商品,我需要将商品运输到澳大利亚吗?
可以。亚马逊物流 (FBA) 无法配送库存存储在美国运营中心的澳大利亚商城的订单。
我可以直接从我的制造商向澳大利亚运营中心发货吗?
可以。
如何将我的商品运往澳大利亚(包括澳大利亚运营中心)?
您的商品进入亚马逊库房后,在澳大利亚使用亚马逊物流的流程与美国类似,但是在澳大利亚将商品运送到这些库房与在美国将商品运送至这些库房的流程有些区别。亚马逊的服务提供商网络有一个第三方提供商列表,其他亚马逊卖家曾使用这些提供商将库存运至澳大利亚。

无论您选择哪种配送方式,向澳大利亚配送商品都需要满足特定要求。其中两个最重要的问题是提供进口代理商 (IOR) 和使用完税交货 (DDP)。这主要涉及由谁支付进口关税和税费等费用的问题。

海关登记进口商: 在澳大利亚销售商品需要经过进口代理商或报关行。进口代理商或报关行是负责缴纳相应进口关税及税费,确保进口商品符合当地法律法规的实体。请注意,亚马逊或其运营中心均不能充当亚马逊物流配送商品的进口代理商。点击此处或咨询第三方提供商,了解有关澳大利亚的重要要求的更多信息。
运往澳大利亚的费用如何收取?
运费、关税和海关费用可能有所不同,具体取决于货件的尺寸、重量和内容。亚马逊有许多澳大利亚亚马逊物流和自行配送提供商,可帮助您解决运费报价问题。目前没有首选承运人计划。如果选择自行配送,DHL、FedEx 和 UPS 等大部分国际承运人也可以为您提供发货、关税和海关方面的帮助。 请务必申请 DDP (完税后交货)运费。
澳大利亚的亚马逊物流 (FBA) 和美国有区别吗?
美国的亚马逊物流与澳大利亚的很相似。与美国一样,澳大利亚的亚马逊物流可帮助您将商品配送给买家、管理客户服务并代表您处理退货。当您在澳大利亚使用亚马逊物流时,您将获取 Prime 标记,该标记可增加您的商品对数百万澳大利亚买家的吸引力,因为买家都喜欢 Prime 的快速配送选项。此外,买家往往更倾向于购买亚马逊物流商品。亚马逊物流费用因不同商城和商品分类而异,Prime 买家配送时间也是如此。

商城入驻策略

我应该在澳大利亚销售哪些商品?
当您首次在澳大利亚销售商品时,自然而然会想到国内商城最畅销的商品。从以前的销售经验和销量报告数据看来,销量最好的商品是什么? 思考这些商品为何畅销,并根据澳大利亚的文化、气候和人口统计评估这些商品在澳大利亚是否会畅销,从而影响买家需求。

可适当增加发布的商品种类,但库存需维持在较低水平;不建议将大量库存集中在某几种商品上。整体而言,更广泛的商品选择意味着会有更多买家查看您的商品,您也能够迅速衡量哪些商品能够在特定商城取得成功。

当您选择要在亚马逊商城销售的商品时,还有一个关键的参考信息,即对商城本身的调查。 调查 amazon.com.au 上您的商品分类中的当前畅销商品。阅读买家评论,了解您的竞争优势和劣势。

确保您有权销售该商品,并了解您的分销权。注意,澳大利亚安全与合规法规不同于其他地理区域的法规。

了解哪些商品分类可以在亚马逊的澳大利亚店铺中公开销售。

符合要求的商品分类和限制: 买家相信他们始终可以放心地在亚马逊上购物。您有责任确保您和您的商品均符合所有适用法律以及亚马逊有关分类、商品和内容限制的政策。点击此处查看各个分类的要求。 如果您对澳大利亚境内的商品合规性或法律义务存有疑问,我们建议您咨询我们的外部服务提供商
我应该如何设置和调整商品在澳大利亚商城的价格?
与美国一样,您可以在两个销售计划中进行选择,以便在澳大利亚销售商品。使用亚马逊费用计算器预估澳大利亚商城的平均费用和潜在收入。在多个国家/地区销售商品时,通过关联账户,您可以获得适用于多个国家/地区的折扣服务费

在确定如何调整澳大利亚商城的价格时,您应该考虑以下因素: 将商品直接配送至国际买家或亚马逊物流运营中心时的运费(包括潜在退货),货币转换费用以及税费和关税。自行配送商品,抑或是通过亚马逊物流进行配送会影响您的许多可变成本。
自行配送商品,抑或是通过亚马逊物流进行配送会影响您的许多可变成本。详情请查看配送选项部分
如何在澳大利亚进行初期销售?
澳大利亚亚马逊提供了类似的工具来帮助您提高销量。销售转化始于报价充满吸引力且易于发现的商品。与在美国商城销售商品一样,您可以使用广告和促销来提高曝光率和销量。

亚马逊商品推广广告有助于提高您的商品在亚马逊澳大利亚商城的曝光率。亚马逊商品推广是一种点击付费式广告服务,有助于您通过关键词定位广告推广您销售的商品。

每个亚马逊商城可用的促销工具有所不同。访问促销帮助页面获取有关可用促销类型的更多详细信息。要查看创建促销的步骤,请访问创建促销

管理业务

如何转换货币?
银行地址必须是澳大利亚,因此您不能使用您的美国银行账户作为存款方式。为方便起见,我们建议使用全球收款服务,如 Hyperwallet。 它将为您提供一个澳大利亚适用的当地收款账户,您需要按以下步骤输入账户详细信息:

设置菜单中选择账户信息

1. 在存款方式部分,点击分配
2. 从银行地址旁边的下拉菜单中选择澳大利亚。
3. 填写要求的账户信息。
4. 单击提交。
如何向澳大利亚买家提供买家支持?
当您使用亚马逊物流 (FBA) 时,亚马逊将代表您提供有关配送问题(在买家联系中,绝大多数均与配送问题有关)的全天候客户支持。对于许多卖家而言,亚马逊物流的这一功能是在澳大利亚取得销售成功的关键。

如果选择自行配送买家订单,亚马逊要求您自行处理有关配送的客户支持以及与商品相关的买家联系。

买家对您的商品存在疑问或疑虑时,他们期望您及时提供有用的服务。客户服务专家了解您的商品、了解买家的商品位于何处以及何时配送,他们可以迅速回复电子邮件联系,从而帮助您维持良好的卖家评分卡表现。
如何处理来自澳大利亚买家的跨境退货
当您使用亚马逊物流 (FBA) 后,亚马逊将代您处理退货服务,您无需担心当地退货地址问题,也不必为了冲抵国际退货运费而更改定价。

对于卖家自行配送 (MFN),退货由卖家负责处理。您必须为退货标签付款并提供本地退货地址,或提供退款并让买家保留商品。要了解更多信息,请访问跨境交易买家如何退货

准备向澳大利亚拓展业务?

已经在亚马逊开店?

向澳大利亚拓展业务

 

亚马逊新用户?

开始

GLOBAL SELLING

Expand to Australia

Already selling on Amazon.com?

Expand to Australia

 

New to Amazon?

Get started

 

Why expand to Australia?

Grow with Amazon in Australia

Start selling on Amazon in Australia to reach millions of new customers. In 2019, monthly unique visitors to Amazon.com.au grew +52% YoY and ecommerce sales in Australia grew +3.8% in 2019.*

Diversify your revenue stream

Grow your Amazon business while diversifying your sales by becoming a selling partner in Australia. 30+ categories are open for selling on Amazon Australia.

Use Amazon's tools to simplify expansion

Let Amazon help you with international logistics and shipping to Australian customers with FBA.

Hear how entrepreneurs built their businesses on Amazon in Australia

Amazon, both in the US has been wonderful in terms of Australia and raising KIND-LY’s brand awareness, and it’s been great watching sales increase as Amazon Australia’s traffic has done so.
Lisa Raciti Kind-LY CEO
HOW-TO

Ready to start selling in Australia?

Just like in the US, you can sign up for a Seller Central account in Australia. Amazon's tools and services make it easy to expand your business internationally, so if you are interested moving forward, follow the steps below to start selling on Amazon in Australia.

Step 1

Decide what to sell
Make sure that you comply with all laws and product standards in Australia. Understand the restricted products and category requirements required to sell your products in Australia. Third-party service providers can also help with issues including compliance, international shipping, and taxes.

Step 2

Register and List
Learn what you’ll need to register a Seller Central account in Australia. Once you register, you will need to complete seller identity verification, complete the tax survey, and assign your deposit method using an AU bank location.

Use Build International Listings to synchronize your listings in the US to Australia or begin adding products in Australia by finding existing listings or creating new listings.

Step 3

Ship and fulfill
Amazon has a network of leading international shipping and logistics experts that offer special discounted rates for Amazon sellers that are expanding their business into Australia.

Most Amazon Sellers opt for Fulfillment by Amazon (FBA) when they want to generate more sales without necessarily investing more in logistics. Understand what’s involved in shipping to and fulfilling in Australia, including costs, times, and requirements.

Step 4

Manage your business
To manage your business in Australia you’ll need to understand Goods and Services Tax (GST), set your prices, and get paid in your local currency with currency converter services such as Hyperwallet. Use Amazon tools like Global Sales Summary, Sponsored Products, and Lightning Deals to grow your business in Australia.
Illustrated magnifying glass

Amazon Seller Help

Dive deep on specific topics related to selling on Amazon in Australia
Illustrated magnifying glass

Webinars

Watch our webinars to learn about how to expand to Australia

Frequently Asked Questions

Get answers to the frequently asked questions about selling in Australia.

Overall

Why sell in Australia?
Selling in Australia allows you to:
  • Reach millions of additional customers: When you sell on Amazon in Australia, you can reach millions of customers and make your products easier to find and easier to buy for Australian customers. Start selling and grow your customer reach globally.
  • Be a part of the growth: Benefit from a growing marketplace by selling in Australia. In 2019, Amazon.com.au experienced +52% YoY growth of average monthly unique visitors and ecommerce sales in Australia grew +3.8% growth in 2019. You too can benefit from this growth by selling in Australia and create listings in more than 30 product categories.
  • Let Amazon handle the details: Leverage our state-of-the-art logistics, powerful tools, and world-class customer service to simplify international selling, so you can concentrate on expanding your business.
  • Be among the first: Compared with the US, Amazon’s Australia marketplace often have fewer sellers in your category, meaning more opportunity for you. Get first-mover advantage by being one of the first sellers in your category.
What products should I sell in Australia?
We usually recommend that sellers offer all their eligible US selection in Australia. With Amazon’s Build International Listings (BIL) tool, it’s easy to add your US listings across Australia, and set pricing rules. However, you’ll need to make sure that you have the appropriate distribution rights and that your products are compliant with local Australian regulations. For example, a US plug won’t work in Australia.

If you plan to use Fulfillment by Amazon (FBA) to fulfill in Australia, you may want to start with a “wide and thin” approach. Start with your full catalog but just a few units per ASIN to see what sells. Then, once you identify your top-selling products, you can send in larger replenishment shipments. Get more guidance on product details in the marketplace entry strategy section.
How hard is it to get started selling in Australia?
Getting started selling in a new geographic region such as Australia can be a big step for your business. However, the investment may be worth it for a fast growing Amazon store like Australia.

Just like when you started selling in the US, your success in Australia will vary based on factors unique to your business, including product category, margins, and regulatory requirements. It’s important to take the time early in the process to fully consider all the pros and cons involved in selling in Australia.

Requirements

What do I need to do to sell on Amazon in Australia?
There are four main steps to begin selling in Australia:
  • Prepare to sell, including considering local tax and regulatory requirements.
  • Register a Seller Central account in Australia and list your products.
  • Ship your goods internationally to Australia and fulfill orders.
  • Manage your business, including customer support and returns.
What is Goods and Service Tax (GST), and what do I need to know about it?
If you choose seller fulfillment, Amazon will remit the taxes on your behalf. If you choose FBA, you will pay an import tax on any shipment going into Australia (10% on value of shipment) but you do not need to register with the Australian Taxation Office (ATO) until your sales reach a threshold of $75k AUD. Once you’ve registered, you will collect and remit GST quarterly. More information on GST: Australia's Low Value Imports GST and Australian Taxation Office.

In 2018, Australia implemented legislation to impose Goods and Services Tax (GST) on imported goods that are classified as taxable for Australian GST purposes and have a customs value of $1,000 Australian Dollars (AUD) or less (Low Value Imported Goods or LVIG). Based on this, Amazon is required to calculate, collect and remit 10% GST on LVIG sold by sellers on Amazon.com and shipped from outside Australia to an Australian address.

If you sell an item that qualifies as LVIG, Amazon will automatically calculate, collect, and remit GST at the rate of 10%. The GST will be added to the price and delivery charges that you have set in Seller Central for items that are classified as LVIG.

Do I need an Australian business entity or bank account?
No. You can keep using your US business entity. The bank location must be Australia so you will not be able to use your US bank account. To facilitate, we recommend currency converter services such as Hyperwallet.

Account and listings

Can I use my current US account to sell in Australia?
No, you’ll need to register an Amazon Australia account. You have the option to link your US account with your Australia account via the Sell Globally Dashoard in Seller Central or if you are new to selling you can get started here.
Can I transfer my Amazon.com product listings over to Amazon’s Australian marketplace?
Yes. The Build International Listings (BIL) tool helps you sell globally by adding offers and synchronizing pricing across multiple marketplaces.

To transfer your Amazon.com listings to Amazon.com.au with BIL, you’ll need to link your accounts. Linking your accounts is the foundation to managing your cross-regional business, enabling you to see your business information across marketplaces in one location. Link your North American and Australian accounts.

Once you have linked your accounts, use BIL to set the US as your “source” marketplace. Next, set the Australia marketplace as your “target” marketplaces.

BIL does not create new product listings (ASINs). It adds offers if the product listing already exists in the new marketplace. If it doesn’t exist yet, the offer will not be added. BIL also does not manage inventory. To make the offer buyable, make inventory available for that marketplace.
How do I know if my US products are compliant in Australia?
Compliance regulations in Australia change regularly. If you sell products in the consumables, beauty, or consumer electronics categories, you’ll want to be particularly vigilant in reviewing local regulations and ensuring compliance. Amazon has a number of external service providers that can help with product compliance.
Do Australian product listings require a new ASIN?
No, not usually. Product ASINs are “global” and are different only if the product is materially different from the original ASIN. For example, if you had three product versions that varied by the type of outlet plug—Australia versus US—each version would have its own ASIN. However, if the products are not materially different (e.g., color variations), then each version would not have its own ASIN.

Shipping and fulfilling

If I’m selling on another Amazon marketplace, do I need to ship my products to Australia?
Yes. Fulfillment by Amazon (FBA) cannot fulfill your Australian marketplace orders with inventory stored in US fulfillment centers.
Can I ship direct from my manufacturer to a Australian fulfillment center?
Yes.
How do I ship my products to Australia, including to Australian fulfillment centers?
Using FBA in Australia is a similar process once your items are in Amazon’s warehouses, but getting the items to those warehouses in Australia has some unique differences than the process in the US. Amazon’s Service Provider Network has a list of third-party providers that other Amazon Sellers have used to ship their inventory into Australia.

Regardless of which fulfillment method you choose, shipping to Australia involves certain requirements. Two of the most important ones are providing an importer of record (IOR) and using delivery duty paid (DDP). These largely involve who is responsible for paying fees such as import duties and taxes.

Importer of record: An IOR or customs broker is required to sell in Australia. The IOR or customs broker is the entity responsible for paying import duties and taxes, ensuring that your imports comply with local laws and regulations. Note that neither Amazon nor its fulfillment centers can serve as the IOR for FBA shipments. Learn more about important requirements for Australia here or consult a third party provider.
How much does shipping to Australia cost?
Shipping, duties, and customs costs can vary depending on the size, weight, and contents of the shipment. Amazon has a number of providers for Australian FBA and self-fulfilled shipping that can help with freight quotes. There is not currently a preferred carrier program. For self-fulfillment, most international carriers such as DHL, FedEx, and UPS, can facilitate shipments, duties, and customs as well. Please be sure to request DDP (Delivered Duties Paid) shipping rates.
Is Fulfillment by Amazon (FBA) in Australia different from FBA in the US?
FBA in the US is very similar to FBA in Australia. Just as in the US, FBA in Australia will help you deliver products to customers, manage customer service, and handle returns on your behalf. When you use FBA in Australia, you will get Prime badging, increasing your listing’s attractiveness to the millions of Australian customers who appreciate Prime’s fast delivery options. FBA offers also have a higher chance of winning the Buy Box. FBA fees vary by marketplace and category, as do Prime customer delivery times.

Marketplace entry strategy

What products should I sell in Australia?
When selling in Australia for the first time, a natural approach is to think about your best-selling products in your home marketplace. From your previous experience and from data in sales reports, what sells well? Consider, why these products do well and evaluate if it will also work well in Australia based on culture, climate, and demographics, influence customer demand.

List a wide range of products (with less inventory) rather than just a few products (with a lot of inventory). A broader selection of products means more customers overall will see your listings, and you’ll be able to quickly gauge which of your products can succeed in a particular marketplace.

In deciding which products to sell in an Amazon marketplace, you, of course, have another key source of information available to you—observations of the marketplace itself. Research on current best sellers on amazon.com.au for your product categories. Read customer reviews to understand your competition’s strengths and weaknesses.

Make sure you’re allowed to sell the product and understand your distribution rights. Be aware that Australian safety and compliance regulations differ from those in other geographic regions.

Learn which product categories are open to start selling in Amazon’s Australian store.

Eligible product categories and restrictions: Customers trust that they can always buy with confidence on Amazon. It is your responsibility to make sure that you and your products comply with all applicable laws and with Amazon’s policies concerning Category, Product and Content Restrictions. Review the requirements by category here. If you have questions about your products’ compliance or your legal obligations in Australia, we advise you to consult with one of our external service providers.
How should I set and adjust my prices for Australia?
Just like in the US, you can choose between two selling plans that enable you to sell in Australia. Use the Amazon fee calculator in Australia to estimate your average fee charges and potential revenues. When selling in multiple countries you can get a discounted subscription for multiple countries by linking accounts.

When deciding how to adjust your pricing for Australia you should consider the following: Shipping costs (including potential returns) when you’re shipping directly to international customers or into FBA fulfillment centers, the cost of converting currencies, and taxes and duties. Many of the variable costs will change based on whether you decide to fulfill products yourself or use FBA.
Many of the variable costs will change based on whether you decide to fulfill products yourself or use FBA. Review the Fulfillment Options section for more details.
How do I generate initial sales in Australia?
Amazon in Australia has similar tools to help you grow sales. Sales conversion begins with products that are discoverable with compelling offers. Just like selling in the US marketplace, you can use advertisements and promotions to increase visibility and sales.

Amazon Sponsored Products advertising can help increase exposure to your offers in Amazon Australia. Sponsored Products is a cost-per-click advertising service that helps you promote the products you sell through keyword-targeted ads.

The promotional tools available vary by Amazon marketplace. Visit the Promotions help page for more details on the types of promotions available. To see the steps to creating a promotion, visit Creating a Promotion.

Managing your business

How do I convert currencies?
The bank location must be Australia so you cannot use your US bank account as the deposit method. To facilitate, we recommend using a Currency Converter service such a Hyperwallet. You will be provided with a local receiving account for Australia, and enter these account details as follows:

In the Settings menu, select Account Info.

1. In the Deposit Method section, click Assign.
2. Select Australia from the drop-down menu next to Bank Location.
3. Fill in the requested account information.
4. Click Submit.
How do I provide customer support to Australian customers?
When you use Fulfillment by Amazon (FBA), Amazon will provide 24-hour customer support for delivery-related questions, which comprise the majority of overall customer contacts, on your behalf. For many sellers, this FBA feature is critical to selling successfully in Australia.

When you choose to fulfill customer orders yourself, Amazon requires that you handle customer support for delivery and product-related customer contacts.

Customers expect prompt, helpful service when they have questions or concerns about your products. Customer service specialists who understand your products, know where the buyer’s product is and when it will be delivered, and can respond quickly to email contacts can help you maintain a healthy seller scorecard.
How do I handle international returns from Australian customers
When you use Fulfillment by Amazon (FBA), Amazon will handle returns on your behalf, so you don’t have to worry about providing a local return address or changing your pricing to incorporate international returns shipping.

Merchant Fulfilled Network (MFN) returns are the responsibility of the seller. You must pay for a return label and provide a local return address, or provide a refund and let the buyer keep the product. To learn more, visit Customer Returns for International Sales.

Ready to expand to Australia?

Already selling on Amazon.com?

Expand to Australia

 

New to Amazon?

Get started

 

© 2020, Amazon Services LLC.
Rate this page
Please tell us the reason for your rating
500 characters remaining
Privacy disclaimer
Thanks for the feedback!
Your feedback helps us improve our website.
Do not include any personal or sensitive data. By submitting feedback, you acknowledge that no personal or sensitive data is included with your response (e.g., names, addresses, telephone numbers or e-mail addresses).